Government in MELTDOWN as it loses a key EU vote!

The government has suffered a humiliating and unexpected defeat with MPs voting 305 to 301 on a rebel amendment that would lead to the UK remaining under EU medicines regulation.

Here is the list of Conservative MPs who voted with the opposition on Phillip Lee’s amendment, NC17. There were 12 of them.

Heidi Allen

Ken Clarke

Jonathan Djanogly

Dominic Grieve

Stephen Hammond

Phillip Lee

Jeremy Lefroy

Nicky Morgan

Bob Neill

Antoinette Sandbach

Anna Soubry

Sarah Wollaston

However  the government has just survived an attempt by pro-EU Conservative MPs to change its post-Brexit trade strategy. The MPs wanted the UK to join a customs union if it does not agree a free-trade deal with the EU. But the government, which says being part of a customs union will prevent it from striking international trade deals, won the vote by 307 to 301.

Please take your time on our site and read more Brexit & UK Articles!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *